Head Hunting: A profession

What is my job as a head hunter, you ask?

To stalk people. To take conference lists with names of all attendees, to look at who they work for and what position they have in the company. If they fit the profile I am looking for, I look them up on linkedin. If still, they’ve made a favorable impression, I send them a message on linkedin telling them about whatever position I am hiring for.  If they’ve made a great impression, I even friend them on linkedin. (Being friends with them will get me access to more profiles like theirs  – what I’m really after.)

If they wow me, I google their names, find their contact information online, and give them a call immediately. If they answer, I pitch the job. If they’re interested in the job, they’ll give me their email address and I send them the official job description. If they’re not, I still get a few names out of them, people they think I should contact. Hook, line, and sinker.

I pitch the opportunity left and right, to many people at a time…until I get their CVs. Notes fly on my excel sheets as I find out more about them. I note whether or not I want to consider them further.

Funny how I have considerable control over someone’s employment….when I myself have not even entered the job world yet.

Of course I can’t disclose how else it is we find candidates, other than what I have listed above, nor what the process is like from here on out (although I can say it involves a lot of interviews and negotiations), I can say the experience has thus far been a very enlightening one.

To be on the other side, before actually having to face a panel of head hunters, on which I am sitting on right now, feels as if I am somehow cheating the rules of the game….or at least knowing the rules of the game before I play it. And let me just say, the game is a complicated one.

Next on my blog: Ever been to a Punjabi wedding in India? Well I have. Stay tuned to find out more! Here is a little teaser for you: (I will upload a video as soon as I can figure out how!)

Leave a comment